Skip to main content

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Presented by

Touchdown Club of New Orleans to honor Browne, Corso, Stubbs, Kincaid and Wicker

The recipients will be honored for their contributions to football on February 27

Joe Browne, Senior Advisor to NFL Commissioner, along with Lee Corso, ESPN Analyst and former Coach, Prep Coach Bill Stubbs of the Riverside Academy Rebels, and Juan Kincaid, Fox 8 Sports Director will be honored for their contributions to football by The Touchdown Club of New Orleans at a banquet on February 27 at The Lowes Hotel 300 Poydras Street in New Orleans.  Additionally, the Honorable Thomas Wicker will be recognized for his years of service to the Club.

Tickets are available by calling The Touchdown Club at (504) 242-4545.  Mark Romig, Saints Play-by-Play Announcer, will serve as master of ceremonies.

The Club will present Browne with the 26th annual Pete Rozelle Award, given each year to the person who has made outstanding contributions to professional football and the National Football League.  Browne is Senior Advisor to NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell.  He started with the NFL as a college intern in 1965.

Collegiate Award recipient Corso is one of college football's most knowledgeable, opinionated and entertaining analysts.  After having served as coach for 28 years, he joined ESPN in 1987 and is a key member of College Game Day.

The Prep Award goes to Stubbs, who has been coaching for 20 years.  At Riverside for 4 years, he has more than 37 wins, and his teams have advanced to the state playoffs in each of the last 4 years.

Kincaid will receive the Bob Roesler Media Award for his work as a sports broadcaster.   A native of Chapel Hill, NC, he has been covering sports for over 20 years. He currently is Fox 8 Sports Director


The Touchdown Club was founded in 1967 initially to promote the best interests of the New Orleans Saints. The Club has grown to promote the American game of football in New Orleans and throughout Louisiana and the Gulf South.  Its members are among the most avid Saints supporters and fans of football at all levels.

Past Honorees

Pete Rozelle Award Recipients

2015    Terry Bradshaw, FOX NFL Analyst and former Steeler Quarterback

2014    Joel Bussert, Sr. V.P. Player Personnel and Football Operations, NFL

2013    Bill Polian, former Vice-Chairman, Indianapolis Colts

2012    Carl Peterson, former President, GM, and CEO, Kansas City Chiefs

2011    Ron Wolf, former General Manager, Green Bay Packers

2010    Pat Summerall, former player and sports broadcaster

2009    Ernie Accorsi, Former Sr. V.P. and General Manager, New York Giants

2008    Jim Steeg, Exec.V.P. & COO, San Diego Chargers

2007    Tom Benson, owner, New Orleans Saints

2005    Jerry Markbreit, NFL Official

2004   Dick Vermeil, Head Coach, Kansas City Chiefs

2003    Steve Sabol, President, NFL Films

2002    Vince Lombardi, former coach, Green Bay Packers

2001    Bill Walsh, former coach, San Francisco 49er's

2000    Don Weiss, former executive director of the NFL

1999    Ralph Wilson, president, Buffalo Bills

1998    Tex Schramm, former general manager, Dallas Cowboys

1997    Marv Levy, former coach, Buffalo Bills

1996    Don Shula, former coach, Miami Dolphins

1995    Tom Landry, former coach, Dallas Cowboys

1994    Lamar Hunt, owner, Kansas City Chiefs

1993    Jim Finks, former general manager, New Orleans Saints

1992    Art Modell, owner, Baltimore Ravens

1991    Wellington Mara, president, New York Giants

1990    Dan Rooney, President, Pittsburgh Steelers

1989    Pete Rozelle, the former NFL Commissioner


College Award Recipients

2015    Mark Hudspeth, Head Coach, Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin Cajuns

2014    Frank Beamer, Head Coach, Virginia Tech Hokies

2013    Brian Kelly, Head Coach, Notre Dame Fighting Irish

2012    Les Miles, Head Coach LSU Tigers

2011    Urban Meyer, former Head Coach, Florida Gators

2010    Phillip Fulmer, former Head Coach, Tennessee Volunteers

2009    Gene Stallings, former Head Coach, Alabama Crimson Tide

2008    Vince Dooley, former Head Coach & AD, Georgia Bulldogs

2007    Bobby Bowden, Head Coach, Florida State Seminoles

2005                Tommy Tuberville, Head Coach, Auburn Tigers

2004        Nick Saban, Head Coach, LSU Tigers

Prep Award Recipients

2015    Tim Detillier, Head Coach, Lutcher Bulldogs

2014    Lou Valdin, former Head Coach, Hahnville Tigers

2013    Barry Wilson, Head Coach, Holy Cross Fighting Tigers

2012    Mickey Roussel, Head Coach, Riverside Academy Rebels

2011    Eddie N. Flint, Defensive Coach, McDonogh #35 Roneagles

2010    Jay Roth, Head Coach, Rummel Raiders

2009    Bob Becnel, Head Coach, Belle Chasse Cardinals

2008    Laury DuPont, Head Coach, West St. John Rams

2007    Wayne Reese, Sr., Head Coach, McDonogh #35 Roneagles

2005    Tony Reginelli, Newman Greenies

2004          J.T. Curtis, Curtis Patriots

Bob Roesler Media Award Recipients

2015    John DeShazier, and Pelicans' Color Analyst

2014    Mike Triplett,

2013    Ken Trahan, President/GM, New

2012    Ron Brocato, Sports Editor, Clarion-Herald

2011    Jeff Duncan, Columnist, The Times-Picayune

2010    Brian Allee-Walsh, Columnist,

2009    Ed Daniels, Sports Director, ABC 26

2008    Jim Henderson, Sports Director, WWL-TV

2007    Peter Finney, Sports Columnist, The Times-Picayune

2005    Buddy Diliberto, Sportscaster

2004    Bob Roesler, former Executive Sports Editor, The Times-Picayune

Note:  No awards were presented in 2006 in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content