Skip to main content

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Six recognized as Mr. Football in Mississippi for 2016

Award is sponsored by New Orleans Saints

Six recognized as Mr. Football in Mississippi for 2016

One player from each MHSAA classification were selected Thursday as Mississippi's Mr. Football for the 2016 season in a partnership with the New Orleans Saints.

The winners as chosen by a selection by a statewide committee of high school coaches and media who cover high school football:

Class 1A: Chris Smith, Nanih Waiya

Class 2A: Don Ragsdale, Pisgah

Class 3A: D.D. Bowie, Morton

Class 4A: Myles Brennan, St. Stanislaus

Class 5A: Jordan Murphy, Hattiesburg

Class 6A: Cam Akers, Clinton

Smith, a 5-foot-10, 180-pound junior running back/receiver/cornerback, has totaled 1,544 all-purpose yards and scored 30 TDs for the Warriors (11-1). He also 27 tackles and two interceptions.

Ragsdale, a 5-10, 190-pound junior running back/safety, carried 311 times for 3,081 yards and scored 39 touchdowns for Pisgah (9-3). He had 69 tackles and five sacks.

Bowie, a 6-1, 197-pound senior quarterback/receiver/defensive back, accounted for 2,664 yards and 40 TDs for the Panthers (8-4). He also had 2 blocked field goals and 1 interception. He has committed to Ole Miss.

Brennan, a 6-4, 187-pound senior quarterback, has completed 253 of 363 passes with 46 TDs and one nterception for the Rock-A-Chaws (10-1). He also has rushed for 445 yards and 9 TDs. He has committed to LSU.

Murphy, a 6-1, 175-pound wide receiver, has caught 70 passes for 1,556 yards and scored 21 TDs for the Tigers (9-3). He has committed to Tennessee.

Cam Akers, a 6-0, 215-pound senior quarterback, has completed 123 of 192 passes for 2343 yards with 25 TDs and four interceptions for the Arrows (10-1). He has also rushed for 1,312 yards and scored 22 TDs.

The Mr. Football selections from Class 6A, 5A, 4A, 3A, 2A and 1A will be recognized at a banquet in Starkville on Thursday, Dec. 1. The Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Mississippi Gridiron Classic State Football Championships are set for Dec. 2-3 at Davis Wade Stadium on the campus of Mississippi State University in Starkville. The awards are a partnership with the Saints, MHSAA and Mississippi Association of Coaches.

"As proponents of youth football, we are thrilled to participate in the recognition of the top players in the state of Mississippi," said Saints President Dennis Lauscha.  "Annually, we are very active with numerous youth program visits all across the state of Mississippi. We also recognize that many high school coaches from Mississippi participate in the various coaching clinics that we host throughout the year and it's very natural that we are supportive of the missions of the Mississippi Association of Coaches and Mississippi High School Activities Association.  We are very proud of our long history of having some of the very finest men, both professionally and personally, that Mississippi high schools have produced, including Archie Manning, Freddie McAfee, Deuce McAllister and so many other fine players, as members of the Saints family and we look forward to the next generations following in their footsteps."

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content