Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

NFL's "2nd Annual NFL Honors" to Take Place in New Orleans on Feb. 2

Event will take place at the Mahalia Jackson Theater and air nationally on Saturday, February 2, 9-11 p.m. (ET) on CBS


The National Football League will salute its best players, performances and plays from the 2012 season with a star-studded football and entertainment  event - "2nd Annual NFL Honors" - a two-hour primetime awards special to air nationally on Saturday, February 2, 9-11 p.m. (ET) on CBS.

Award-winning actor Alec Baldwin returns as the host of the show from the famed Mahalia Jackson Theater in New Orleans. The show will feature a live performance from OneRepublic.

QB Drew Brees is one of five finalists for the 2012 GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year. The winner will be announced at the awards show.

Fans can vote for Brees on through 9:00 PM EST on Thursday, January 24.

Last year, Brees received the Associated Press NFL Offensive Player of the Year at the awards show.

Current and former players such as Jim Brown, Dwight Clark, Emmitt Smith, Barry Sanders and Steve Young are scheduled to be in attendance as the NFL and The Associated Press announce their annual accolades in an awards show format. "NFL Honors," which debuted last year in Indianapolis, is now an annual event from the Super Bowl city.  The winners will be on hand to accept their awards.

Kicking off the night will be "Super Bowl Saturday Night presented by XFINITY," a red carpet show on NFL Network from 8 – 9 p.m. (ET) featuring the sights and sounds of Super Bowl week and many of the stars who will be celebrating the best of the NFL later that evening.

Among the awards that will be announced will be the prestigious Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award, which recognizes a player's off-the-field community service as well as his playing excellence.

Seven of the awards will be from the AP. Those awards, which include AP Most Valuable Player and AP Coach of the Year, are voted on at the end of the regular NFL season by a nationwide media panel of 50 people who regularly cover the league. The ballots are tabulated solely by the AP.
The AP is providing the list of honorees to the NFL for the program, and any advertising or sponsorship on the broadcast is being handled separately and independently by the NFL.

The full list of awards that will be presented will be:

AP Most Valuable Player
Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year
AP Coach of the Year    
AP Comeback Player of the Year
AP Offensive Player of the Year     
AP Defensive Player of the Year
AP Offensive Rookie of the Year    
AP Defensive Rookie of the Year
Pepsi Max Rookie of the Year    
FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year
GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year    
Bridgestone Play of the Year Fantasy Player of the Year    
"Greatness on the Road" Award
Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award    
Salute To Service Award

For more information about "NFL Honors" fans may visit here.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content