Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

New Orleans Saints senior writer John DeShazier to receive the Bob Roesler Media Award

John DeShazier to be honored by The Touchdown Club of New Orleans on March 7

NEW ORLEANS – Terry Bradshaw, FOX NFL Analyst and former Steeler Quarterback, along with Mark Hudspeth, Head Coach of the Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin Cajuns, Prep Coach Tim Detillier of the Lutcher Bulldogs, and John DeShazier of and Pelicans' Color Analyst will be honored for their contributions to football by The Touchdown Club of New Orleans at a banquet on March 7 at The Windsor Court Hotel, 300 Gravier Street in New Orleans.

Tickets are available by calling The Touchdown Club at (504) 242-4545. Mike Detillier, Co-Host of Second Guess, WWL, will serve as master of ceremonies.

The Club will present Bradshaw with the 25th annual Pete Rozelle Award, given each year to the person who has made outstanding contributions to professional football and the National Football League. Bradshaw captured four Super Bowls as Steeler Quarterback and now serves as an NFL analyst on Fox NFL Sunday.

Collegiate Award recipient Hudspeth has guided his teams to a 93-33 record as a Head Coach. Under him, the Ragin Cajuns have captured 36 wins for the best four year record in program history. The Cajuns became the first school in NCAA history to win the same bowl game (R L Carriers New Orleans Bowl) four consecutive years.

The Prep Award goes to Detillier, who has been coaching for 30 years. At Lutcher for 28 years, he has more than 250 wins, and his teams have advanced to the state playoffs in each of the last 28 years.

DeShazier will receive the Bob Roesler Media Award for his work as a Sports Writer and broadcaster. A native of Macon, GA, he has been covering sports for over 20 years. He currently is senior writer for and radio color analyst for the New Orleans Pelicans.

Past Honorees
Pete Rozelle Award Recipients
2014 Joel Bussert, Sr. V.P. Player Personnel and Football Operations, NFL
2013 Bill Polian, former Vice-Chairman, Indianapolis Colts
2012 Carl Peterson, former President, GM, and CEO, Kansas City Chiefs
2011 Ron Wolf, former General Manager, Green Bay Packers
2010 Pat Summerall, former player and sports broadcaster
2009 Ernie Accorsi, Former Sr. V.P. and General Manager, New York Giants
2008 Jim Steeg, Exec.V.P. & COO, San Diego Chargers
2007 Tom Benson, owner, New Orleans Saints
2005 Jerry Markbreit, NFL Official
2004 Dick Vermeil, Head Coach, Kansas City Chiefs
2003 Steve Sabol, President, NFL Films
2002 Vince Lombardi, former coach, Green Bay Packers
2001 Bill Walsh, former coach, San Francisco 49er's
2000 Don Weiss, former executive director of the NFL
1999 Ralph Wilson, president, Buffalo Bills
1998 Tex Schramm, former general manager, Dallas Cowboys
1997 Marv Levy, former coach, Buffalo Bills
1996 Don Shula, former coach, Miami Dolphins
1995 Tom Landry, former coach, Dallas Cowboys
1994 Lamar Hunt, owner, Kansas City Chiefs
1993 Jim Finks, former general manager, New Orleans Saints
1992 Art Modell, owner, Baltimore Ravens
1991 Wellington Mara, president, New York Giants
1990 Dan Rooney, President, Pittsburgh Steelers
1989 Pete Rozelle, the former NFL Commissioner
College Award Recipients
2014 Frank Beamer, Head Coach, Virginia Tech Hokies
2013 Brian Kelly, Head Coach, Notre Dame Fighting Irish
2012 Les Miles, Head Coach LSU Tigers
2011 Urban Meyer, former Head Coach, Florida Gators
2010 Phillip Fulmer, former Head Coach, Tennessee Volunteers
2009 Gene Stallings, former Head Coach, Alabama Crimson Tide
2008 Vince Dooley, former Head Coach & AD, Georgia Bulldogs
2007 Bobby Bowden, Head Coach, Florida State Seminoles
2005 Tommy Tuberville, Head Coach, Auburn Tigers
2004 Nick Saban, Head Coach, LSU Tigers

Prep Award Recipients
2014 Lou Valdin, former Head Coach, Hahnville Tigers
2013 Barry Wilson, Head Coach, Holy Cross Fighting Tigers
2012 Mickey Roussel, Head Coach, Riverside Academy Rebels
2011 Eddie N. Flint, Defensive Coach, McDonogh #35 Roneagles
2010 Jay Roth, Head Coach, Rummel Raiders
2009 Bob Becnel, Head Coach, Belle Chasse Cardinals
2008 Laury DuPont, Head Coach, West St. John Rams
2007 Wayne Reese, Sr., Head Coach, McDonogh #35 Roneagles
2005 Tony Reginelli, Newman Greenies
2004 J.T. Curtis, Curtis Patriots

Bob Roesler Media Award Recipients
2014 Mike Triplett,
2013 Ken Trahan, President/GM, New
2012 Ron Brocato, Sports Editor, Clarion-Herald
2011 Jeff Duncan, Columnist, The Times-Picayune
2010 Brian Allee-Walsh, Columnist,
2009 Ed Daniels, Sports Director, ABC 26
2008 Jim Henderson, Sports Director, WWL-TV
2007 Peter Finney, Sports Columnist, The Times-Picayune
2005 Buddy Diliberto, Sportscaster
2004 Bob Roesler, former Executive Sports Editor, The Times-Picayune

Note:  No awards were presented in 2006 in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content