Skip to main content

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Presented by

Draft history: A look back at the 24th pick

See which NFL players were drafted at the 24th pick from 2010-2019

As we approach the 2020 NFL Draft on April 23-25, the New Orleans Saints will have picks in Round 1 (24th overall), Round 3 (88th overall), Round 4 (130th overall), Round 5 (169th overall) and Round 6 (203rd overall). takes a look at the history of those overall pick positions and the players it brought into the league.

Over the last 10 NFL Drafts, the 24th overall selection has been split between the offensive and defensive side of the ball with five selections apiece.

Three standouts for the 24th pick, including David DeCastro, Cameron Jordan and Dez Bryant, have combined for six All-Pro selections, 13 Pro Bowl selections and three All-Rookie Team selections. Decastro, the former Stanford standout, has appeared in 112 games with 111 starts at guard for the Steelers and was named a two-time All-Pro and five-time Pro Bowler in his first eight seasons with the team. Bryant caught 531 passes for 7,459 yards, scoring 73 touchdowns, throughout his career. In 2014, Bryant led the NFL in receiving touchdowns with 16.

Saints defensive end Cameron Jordan has proven to be a star in the NFL. Jordan has appeared in 144 games, with 143 starts, posting 87 sacks, 463 tackles (312 solo), 10 forced fumbles and 10 fumble recoveries. Jordan has snagged two interceptions, returning one for a touchdown and swatted 47 passes down.

Jordan will enter his 10th season with the Saints hoping to add to his list of accolades. Jordan is a three-time All-Pro, five-time Pro Bowler, and was named the NFC Defensive Player of the Month in November 2017.

PICK 24 IN 2019:
Running back Josh Jacobs appeared in 13 games with the Oakland Raiders. Jacobs led all rookies with 1,150 yards rushing and seven rushing touchdowns.

2019: Oakland Raiders, RB – Josh Jacobs, Alabama (PWFA All-Rookie Team)
2018: Carolina Panthers, WR – D.J. Moore, Maryland (PWFA All-Rookie Team)
2017: Oakland Raiders, CB – Gareon Conley, Ohio State
2016: Cincinnati Bengals, CB – William Jackson III, Houston
2015: Arizona Cardinals, T – D.J. Humphries, Florida
2014: Cincinnati Bengals, DB – Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
2013: Indianapolis Colts, DE – Bjoern Werner, Florida State
2012: Pittsburgh Steelers, G – David DeCastro, Stanford (2x All-Pro, 5x Pro Bowl)
2011: New Orleans Saints, DE – Cameron Jordan, California (3x All-Pro, 5x Pro Bowl)
2010: Dallas Cowboys, WR – Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State (All-Pro, 3x Pro Bowl, PFWA All-Rookie Team)

Related Content