Skip to main content

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

New Orleans Saints place league-high three players on 2019 Professional Football Writers of America All-Rookie team

Deonte Harris, Erik McCoy and C.J. Gardner-Johnson make the squad


The New Orleans Saints led all NFL clubs with three selections on the 2019 All-Rookie team. Players were chosen in voting conducted by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA).

The Saints placed return specialist Deonte Harty, defensive backC.J. Gardner-Johnson and center Erik McCoy on the team.

Harris was the lone rookie to receive 2019 All-NFL team honors as well. He led the NFL in punt return yards this season, netting 338 yards. He also was named to the All-Pro team.

The Saints drafted McCoy in the second round (48th overall) to step in and replace the retired Max Unger. McCoy started all 16 games for New Orleans in 2019.

Gardner-Johnson notched 46 total tackles, one interception and one forced fumble during his rookie campaign.

In all, 18 clubs are represented among the 27 rookies honored.

Related Content