Skip to main content

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Inside the Game: New Orleans Saints, Minnesota Vikings series history 

Take an inside look at the series history between the Saints and Vikings

New Orleans Saints vs. Minnesota Vikings series history

Minnesota leads the regular season series, having won 19 of 29 contests since the teams first met on Oct. 13, 1968 at Tulane Stadium and three of four postseason meetings; the Black and Gold won that first matchup 20-17.

The Saints would not beat the Vikings again until Sept. 3, 1978, losing six straight contests in the interim. Though the Vikings have a firm grasp of the overall series record, the Saints have fared much better since the 2006 arrival of Sean Payton as head coach and the free agent signing of quarterback Drew Brees.

The teams have met on seven occasions since then, five times in the regular season and twice in the postseason and New Orleans has captured four. The Saints and Vikings have met four times in the playoffs, including the Black and Gold's first postseason game in 1987, which the Vikings seized at the Superdome, 44-10.

The third playoff meeting proved to be the charm, however, as the two clubs met at the Superdome on Jan. 24, 2010 for the NFC championship game. Brees completed 17-of-31 passes for 197 yards and three touchdowns with running back Pierre Thomas scoring two touchdowns and running back Reggie Bush and wide receiver Devery Henderson adding scoring grabs. A late interception of Minnesota quarterback Brett Favre by cornerback Tracy Porter sent the game to overtime, and the Saints won 31-28 off a 40-yard field goal from kicker Garrett Hartley, sending the Saints to Super Bowl XLIV.