Skip to main content
New Orleans Saints

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Drew Brees wins Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Saints quarterback beats out seven other players for award

New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees was named the winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award at the NFL Honors awards show Saturday, Feb. 2 in Atlanta.

The award is presented to a player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition. It was created in 2014 and named after Art Rooney Sr., former owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Brees beat out seven other players for the award: Indianapolis Colts quarterback Andrew Luck, Baltimore Ravens safety Eric Weddle, Los Angeles Chargers tight end Antonio Gates, Jacksonville Jaguars defensive end Calais, Campbell, Green Bay Packers cornerback Tremon Williams, San Francisco 49ers tackle Joe Staley and Washington Redskins tight end Vernon Davis.

Brees will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

Related Content