Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Presented by

Saints All-Time Draft Summary

Review the Saints' past choices in preparation for the 2010 NFL Draft

The 2010 NFL Draft is just over 24 hours away, scheduled to kick off at 6:30 p.m. (CT). Anxious to continue the task of adding promising young talent to their roster, the Saints hold six picks in the draft. 

New Orleans holds its own selections in the first round (32nd overall), second round (64th overall), the third round (95th overall), fourth round (130th overall), sixth round (201st overall) and seventh round (239th overall), working with the final non-compensatory choices in each of these rounds as a result of being Super Bowl XLIV champions. The Saints dealt their 2010 fifth (163rd overall) and 2009 seventh (151st overall) round choices to the Philadelphia Eagles for their 2009 fifth rounder (164th overall), which they used to pick P Thomas Morstead.

Since 2006, the Saints have experienced a high rate of success in the draft as 18 players are on the roster from the last four drafts. While the club's first and second round picks during this time, RB Reggie Bush, S Roman Harper, WR Robert Meachem, DT Sedrick Ellis, CB Tracy Porter and CB Malcolm Jenkins have all experienced success, New Orleans has also mined successfull starts and key contributors out of the mid to late rounds such as T Jermon Bushrod, WR Marques Colston, G Jahri Evans and G Carl Nicks, will be a fan's up to date resource for information about potential trades, choices, summaries and interviews with draft picks, as well as comments from Executive Vice President/General Manager Mickey Loomis and Head Coach Sean Payton following choices.

Below is a summary of some of New Orleans' draft history, past and present:

ON THE ROSTER: Of the 66 players currently on the roster, 23 were draft picks of the club. There are eight former No. 1s, six by the Saints – CB Malcolm Jenkins, DT Sedrick Ellis (2008), WR Robert Meachem (2007), RB Reggie Bush (2006), T Jammal Brown (2005) and DE Will Smith (2004)  – and two by other clubs: TE Jeremy Shockey (NYG, 2002) and LB Jonathan Vilma (NYJ, 2004).

FIRST ROUND: The Saints have had 42 first-round picks. The position-by-position-breakdown:
• Defensive Ends: Eight (Will Smith, 2004; Charles Grant, 2002; Joe Johnson, 1994; Renaldo Turnbull, 1990; Wayne Martin, 1989; Shawn Knight, 1987; Joe Campbell, 1977; Kevin Hardy, 1968)
• Running Backs: Eight (Reggie Bush, 2006; Deuce McAllister, 2001; Ricky Williams, 1999, Vaughn Dunbar, 1992; Craig Heyward, 1988; George Rogers, 1981; Chuck Muncie, 1976; Leslie Kelley, 1967)
• Wide Receivers: Six (Robert Meachem, 2007; Donte' Stallworth, 2002; Lindsay Scott, 1982; Wes Chandler, 1978; Larry Burton, 1975; Ken Burrough, 1970)
• Guards: Four (Chris Naeole, 1997; Larry Schumacher, 1975; Royce Smith, 1972; John Shinners, 1969)
• Tackles: Five (Jammal Brown, 2005; Kyle Turley, 1998; William Roaf, 1993; Jim Dombrowski; 1986; Stan Brock, 1980)
• Linebackers: Three (Mark Fields, 1995; Alvin Toles, 1985, Rick Middleton, 1974)
• Quarterbacks: Two (Dave Wilson, 1982, supplemental pick from 1981; Archie Manning, 1971)
• Defensive tackle: Two (Sedrick Ellis, 2008; Johnathan Sullivan, 2003)
• Cornerback: Two (Malcolm Jenkins, 2009; Alex Molden, 1996)
• Tight End: One (Irv Smith, 1993)
• Kicker/Punter: One (Russell Erxleben, 1979)

ALL-TIME: In 43 NFL Drafts, the Saints have picked 501 players from 161 colleges and universities.

By Position: 65 RB; 63 WR; 61 LB; 55 CB; 42 DE; 40 T; 39 G; 36 S;30 DT; 27 TE; 18 QB; 8 C; 8 FB; 6 P; and 4 k.

By School: 16: USC; 15: Nebraska, 11: Notre Dame, Ohio State; 11: Michigan, Tennessee; 9: Oklahoma; 8: Florida St., Georgia, LSU, Missouri & Tulane; 7: Florida, Mississippi & Wisconsin; 6: Alabama, Kansas, Pittsburgh, San Diego State, Washington St., West Virginia; 5: Arizona St., BYU, Colorado, Houston, Minnesota, Mississippi St., North Carolina, North Carolina State, Purdue, Southern, Texas, Tulsa, Virginia, Wake Forest & Washington.

Louisiana State: Tommy Morel, 1969; Steve Rogers, 1975; Hokie Gajan, 1981; Eric Martin, 1985; Dalton Hilliard, 1986; Michael Mayes, 1989; Nicky Savoie, 1997; Devery Henderson, 2004

Mississippi: Dan Sartin, 1968; Glenn Cannon, 1970; Archie Manning, 1971; Wimpy Winther, 1971; Paul Dongieux, 1972; Tutan Reyes, 2000; Deuce McAllister; 2001.

Mississippi State: Marcus Rhoden, 1967; Patrick Swoopes, 1986; Fred Hadley, 1989; James Williams 1990; Herman Carroll, 1994.

Southern: Richard Neal, 1969; Willie Davenport 1970; James Elder, 1971; Nathan Besaint, 1978; Vincent Fizer, 1988.

Tulane: Bart Graves, 1971; Steve Barrios, 1972; Rusty Lachaussee, 1972; Tommy Thibodeaux, 1974; Mike Truax, 1974; Charles Hall, 1975; Marvin Lewis, 1982; Treg Songy, 1985.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content