Skip to main content

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Two former New Orleans Saints on Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019 Nominees List 

La'Roi Glover, Sam Mills among 102 nominees


The Modern-Era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2019 is comprised of 102 players and coaches, including two prominent former New Orleans Saints, linebacker Sam Mills, and defensive tackle/nose tackle, La'Roi Glover.

Mills, who spent 1986-1994 with the Saints, became an instrumental part of the New Orleans defense and was a member of the "Dome Patrol" in the early 1990s. During his time in New Orleans, Mills earned a spot on the Pro Bowl team in 1987, 1988, 1991, and 1992. Over nine years, Mills played in 133 games where he had four interceptions, 16 pass deflections, 17 fumble recoveries, 10.5 sacks, and a whopping 894 tackles. Mills was inducted into the Saints Hall of Fame in 1998. He died in 2005.

Glover spent 1997-2001 in New Orleans where he earned two Pro Bowl appearances and one year was First Team All-Pro. Arguably Glover's most productive game came in 2000 when New Orleans faced the defending Super Bowl champion, the St. Louis Rams. in the wild card game. Glover forced three fumbles and had a fumble recovery to help send the Saints to their first playoff victory. Glover played in 79 games for the Saints and had 11 pass deflections, five fumble recoveries, 50 sacks, and 219 tackles.

Eighteen finalists will be presented to the full 48-member Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee during its annual meeting on "Selection Saturday," the day before Super Bowl LIII. The finalists will consist of 15 Modern-Era finalists, the recently named Senior Finalist, Johnny Robinson, and the Contributor Finalists, Pat Bowlen and Gil Brandt. The Selection Committee will meet on Saturday, Feb. 2, 2019 in Atlanta to elect the Class of 2019. While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the selection process by-laws provide that between four and eight new members will be selected. The Senior Finalist and Contributor Finalists are voted "yes" or "no" for election at the annual selection meeting and must receive at least 80 percent support from the Committee to be elected. The Modern-Era Finalists will be trimmed during the meeting from 15 to 10 and then from 10 to 5. The remaining five finalists will be voted on individually, "yes" or "no" and must receive the same 80 percent positive vote as the Senior and Contributors Finalists to earn election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The Class of 2019 will be announced during the "NFL Honors" nationally broadcast award show that evening. The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2019 will be formally enshrined on Saturday, Aug. 3, 2019 in Canton. The enshrinement is one of three marquee events, along with the Hall of Fame Game and the Concert for Legends, that are held in the spectacular Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium during Enshrinement Week Powered by Johnson Controls.


For the eighth consecutive year, fans can vote for their favorite Pro Football Hall of Fame nominees. Fans should visit to make their picks. The Class of 2019 fan vote is presented by Ford, the Official Automobile of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Fans could score big with a new a custom NFL design Ford F-150 AND a VIP trip for two to Super Bowl LIII. NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Sweepstakes end Jan. 20, 2019. Enter sweepstakes:


Related Content