Skip to main content
New Orleans Saints

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Drew Brees Nominated for "Best Record-Breaking Performance" at 2013 ESPYs

New Orleans Saints QB Drew Brees received the ESPY nomination for breaking Johnny Unitas' record of consecutive games with a TD pass last season

New Orleans Saints QB Drew Brees has been nominated for the "Best Record-Breaking Performance" at the 2013 ESPYS, an award he won last year, ESPN announced.

Brees received the ESPY nomination for breaking Johnny Unitas' record of consecutive games with a TD pass last season. The Saints QB extended the streak to 54 games.

The ESPYs will be televised live Wednesday, July 17, at 8 p.m. CT on ESPN/ESPNHD from the Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles.

The ESPYS will be hosted by actor Jon Hamm, widely celebrated for his role as Don Draper on AMC's award-winning series Mad Men.

Fans will determine the winners in all ESPY categories (except the Arthur Ashe Courage Award and other special awards) by voting online at


Brees won the "Best Record-Breaking Performance" ESPY last year for breaking Dan Marino's record for most passing yards in a season. It marked the fourth ESPY of Brees' career after winning three in 2011 (Best Male Athlete, Best Championship Performance and Best NFL Player.)

For the Best Record-Breaking Performance category, Brees is joined by Detriot Lions' WR Calvin Johnson (single-season NFL receiving yardage record), United States swimmer Michael Phelps (record 22 Olympic medals) and United States soccer player Abby Wambach (all-time women's soccer scoring record).

In 2012, Brees completed 422-of-670 throws (63.0%) for 5,177 yards with 43 touchdown passes, 19 interceptions and a 96.3 passer rating, as he was selected to the Pro Bowl for the fifth consecutive season.

About the ESPYs
The ESPYS gather top celebrities from sports and entertainment to commemorate the past year in sports by recognizing major sports achievements, reliving unforgettable moments and saluting the leading performers and performances. The 2013 ESPYS marks the show's 21st telecast and will recognize both sport-specific achievements, such as "Best MLB Player" and "Best WNBA Player," and best-in-sport winners, such as "Best Team" or "Best Female Athlete" that pit nominees from different sports against each other.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content