Skip to main content

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

13 former Saints listed on 2025 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

Saints legends Jahri Evans, Mark Ingram, Wayne Martin featured on ballot alongside other former Saints


The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced the names of the 2025 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame on Monday, June 3, featuring 13 former Saints players.

An induction to the College Football Hall of Fame "represents the pinnacle of achievement in our sport, and the Hall of Fame serves as the centerpiece of the NFF's efforts to inspire future generations to greatness," said NFF Chairman and Saints legend Archie Manning, a 1989 inductee from Mississippi.

Three of the more notable Saints legends on the ballot include Bloomsburg (PA) offensive lineman Jahri Evans, Alabama running back Mark Ingram and Arkansas defensive tackle Wayne Martin.

Evans was a 2005 First Team All-American and also earned Second Team All-American honors as a junior for the Bloomsburg Huskies. The two-time Division II Player of the Year finalist and three-time First Team All-PSAC East selection would be drafted by the Saints in the fourth round of the 2006 NFL Draft and go on to put together a historic career includes six Pro Bowl selections, five All-Pro selections (four First Team All-Pro), and being named to the Saints 50th Anniversary Team and the NFL 2010s All-Decade Team.

Ingram enters his first year on the ballot. During his collegiate career he would be named 2009 unanimous First Team All-American and the Alabama Crimson Tide's first Heisman Trophy winner, also being named Offensive MVP of the 2010 BCS National Championship after posting 116 rushing yards and two touchdowns in the victory. The 2009 SEC Offensive Player of the Year led the conference in rushing (1,658) and total TDs (20) that season. Ingram would go on to be drafted by the Saints in the first round of the 2011 NFL Draft and put together a highly productive career, being a three-time Pro Bowler and and is the team's all-time leader in rushing yards.

Martin was a 1988 consensus first team All-American, leading the Arkansas Razorbacks to four bowl berths and three top-20 final national rankings. He was named 1988 first team All-SWC and assisted the Hogs to a 1988 conference title, finishing his career as the school's all-time leader in sacks (25.5), before being drafted by the Saints in the first round of the 1989 NFL draft. Martin would stay with the Saints his entire career and started all 16 games for nine consecutive seasons, 144 games in total and ranking third in franchise history for career sacks (82.5).

The full ballot consists of 77 players and nine coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 101 players and 34 coaches from the divisional ranks. The ballot was delivered to over 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers with a July 1 voting deadline. After the votes will be tabulated and submitted to the Honors Court, which will deliberate and select the class. The Honors Court includes a pool of athletic administrators, Hall of Famers and members of the media.

The 2025 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be inducted during the 67th NFF Annual Awards on Dec. 9, 2025 and they will also be honored at their alma maters during the 2025 season.

"It's an enormous honor to just be on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot considering more than 5.7 million people have played college football and only 1,093 players have been inducted," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The Hall's requirement of being a first Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of about 1,500 individuals who are even eligible. Being in today's elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to have ever played the game, and we look forward to announcing the 2025 College Football Hall of Fame Class early next year."

See all former Saints listed on this year's ballot:

FBS Candidates:

DE Alex Brown: Florida (1998-2001), Saints 2010
RB Ki-Jana Carter: Penn State (1992-1994), Saints (2003-2004)
RB Vaughn Dunbar: Indiana (1990-1991), Saints (1992-1995)
RB Craig Heyward: Pittsburgh (1984, 1986-1987), Saints (1988-1992)
RB Mark Ingram: Alabama (2008-2010), Saints (2011-2018, 2021-2022)
G Ed King: Auburn (1988-1990), Saints (1995-1997)
C Olin Kruetz: Washington (1995-1997), Saints (2011)
LB James Laurinaitis: Ohio State (2005-2008), Saints (2016)
DT Wayne Martin: Arkansas (1985-1988), Saints (1989-1999)
LB Darrin Smith: Miami (FL) (1989-1992), Saints (2000-2004)
LB Manti Te'o: Notre Dame (2009-2012), Saints (2017-2019)

Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, NAIA Candidates:

DB Ashley Ambrose: Mississippi Valley State (1988-1991), Saints (1999, 2003-2004)
G Jahri Evans: Bloomsburg (PA) (2003-2005), Saints (2006-2016)

Related Content