Skip to main content

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Two prominent former New Orleans Saints on 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot 

Andersen, Evans named to the College Football Hall of Fame ballot

New Orleans Saints legends Morten Andersen and Jahri Evans are on the 2020 ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame announced Monday, June 3, 2019. Andersen and Evans are among 76 players and five coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), and 101 players and 33 coaches from the divisional ranks (Division I, II, III).

Prior to his 13-year professional career with New Orleans, Andersen earned First Team All-American honors as kicker at Michigan State University. Andersen left MSU as the Big Ten's all-time leader in field goals (45). He set a still-standing conference record with 63-yard field goal in 1981 and was a three-time All-Big Ten performer. Andersen led the Spartans in scoring for three seasons.

In his years with the Saints, Andersen was named to six Pro Bowls, kicked 302 field goals, and scored 1318 points. Andersen is a member of the New Orleans Saints Hall of Fame, the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame, and the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Before the Saints selected Evans with the 108th overall pick in the 2006 NFL Draft, Evans earned 2005 First Team All-American honors at Bloomsburg (Pa.). He was a two-time Division II Player of the Year finalist and three-time First Team All-PSAC East selection. Evans led the Huskies to the 2005 PSAC East title and an NCAA playoff berth.

Evans made a rapid ascent from his small school roots at Bloomsburg into one of the NFL's top interior linemen and the top guard in Saints history. He was named to six consecutive Pro Bowls from 2009-14, and was selected an AP first-team All-Pro selection from 2009-12, adding an All-Pro second-team selection in 2013. Evans started 153 contests at right guard for New Orleans, the 10th-highest total for games played in team record books.

The announcement of the 2020 Class will be made in January in the days leading up to the College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship in New Orleans.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content