Skip to main content

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Saints Add to Award History at the ESPYs

Jarrius' recognition adds to the list of ESPY Awards honors for the Saints

While the Saints may not have had a picture perfect season, the team and one of its loyal supporters will still be honored at the 25th ESPY Awards on Wednesday, July 12.

Saints superfan Jarrius Robertson will be awarded the Jimmy V Perseverance Award. His courage, bravery and positive spirit has helped him battle through 13 surgeries, two liver transplants and a year-long coma.

Add JJ's honor to the list of ESPY Awards recognition for the Saints as the team has been recognized seven times at the prior events dating back to 2004.

In 2012, Drew Brees won the Best Record-Breaking Performance Award for breaking Dan Marino's single season passing record. The Saints quarterback threw for 5,476 yards in 2011, which was 392 yards more than what the Dolphins quarterback threw for in 1984.

In 2010, Drew Brees collected three ESPYs during New Orleans' Super Bowl season. He received the award for Best Male Athlete, beating out Kobe Byrant, LeBron James, Jimmie Johnson and Albert Pujols. He won Best Championship Performance for his play in Super Bowl XLIV, in which he was named Super Bowl MVP. He threw for 288 yards, two touchdowns and had a 114.5 passer rating, while completing 32 of 39 passes. Lastly, he was named Best NFL Player in a season where he led the league in passing touchdowns (34), passer rating (109.6) and completion percentage (70.6).

Also in 2010, the New Orleans Saints received the award for Best Team. The Saints won Super Bowl XLIV, had a 13-3 record and were the number one seed in the NFC.

In 2006, Saints running back Reggie Bush received the award for Best Male College Athlete. Drafted with the 2nd overall pick in the 2006 NFL Draft, Bush ran for 1700 yards and 16 touchdowns at USC and also carried his team to their second consecutive National Championship appearance.

The Saints' first ESPY came in 2004 where the team won the award for the Best Play. In Week 15 with little time on the clock, the Saints used a series of laterals from Donte' Stallworth, Michael Lewis and Deuce McAllister to get the ball in the hands of Jerome Pathon to score a touchdown at the end of regulation. The play would go down in history as the "River City Relay."

Tune in on Wednesday, July 12 at 7 p.m. CT and catch the 25th annual ESPY Awards on ABC.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content