Skip to main content
New Orleans Saints

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Moore, Thomas and Hebert set to be honored by Saints Hall of Fame in September

The media selection committee of the Saints Hall of Fame has selected WR Lance Moore and RB Pierre Thomas for induction in 2018, while Saints Director of Photography Michael C. Hebert has been chosen to receive the Joe Gemelli "Fleur de Lis" award for his vast contributions to the New Orleans Saints organization.

Moore, 5-9, 185, was one of the most prolific wideouts in franchise history. He played nine seasons with the Saints from 2005-13 after starting his career as an undrafted free agent out of Toledo in 2005, appeared in 101 games and recorded 346 receptions for 4,281 yards (12.4 avg.) with 38 touchdown grabs and adding one rushing touchdown. The Westerville, Ohio native is ranked fifth in club record books in receptions, seventh in receiving yardage, fifth in touchdown receptions, ninth in total touchdowns (39) and ninth in 100-yard receiving games (8). No Saint who went undrafted recorded as many receptions, receiving yards or touchdowns as Moore. He also appeared in six career postseason contests for New Orleans and added 13 receptions for 132 yards with one touchdown, as well as a key two-point conversion reception late in the fourth quarter of Super Bowl XLIV to put New Orleans ahead of the Indianapolis Colts, 24-17.

In addition to being a stalwart on the field for New Orleans, Moore was a valuable member of the New Orleans community off the field. In 2012, he was named the team's nominee for the NFL's Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, recognizing his extensive community service, in visiting schools to stress education, working to raise money to have homes for those in need built after Hurricane Katrina and participating in numerous food and toy distributions during the holiday seasons.

Thomas, 5-11, 215, was originally signed as an undrafted free agent by New Orleans in 2007 out of Illinois. The Chicago native appeared in 105 games with 41 starts over eight seasons with the Saints from 2007-2014. He accumulated 3,745 yards and 28 touchdowns on 818 rush attempts (4.6 avg.), and added 2,608 yards and 12 touchdowns on 327 receptions. On his way to a Super Bowl XLIV title in 2009, he rushed for 793 yards and six touchdowns on 147 carries and caught 39 passes for 302 yards and two touchdowns. He ranks fourth in franchise history on the team's career rushing list (3,745 yards), seventh on the team's career scrimmage yard list (6,353) and eighth in total touchdowns (41).

Off the field Thomas excelled even more, being named the club's 2013 Payton Man of the Year nominee for his dedication to supporting the community. He started the iCAN Foundation in 2012, which is a non-profit public charity founded to help prevent and educate youth and adults about the ongoing and rising issues of childhood obesity in the U.S. through its programs and activities and was also designed to promote living a healthy lifestyle through physical activities as well as proper diet. His annual events include a Christmas Healthy Food & Toy Drive where he delivered toys & healthy snacks to underprivileged children. Thomas has also been active on the horticultural front by planting edible gardens at schools in his hometown and has also led youth heath initiatives through various programs his foundation offers.

Hebert is in his year 22nd with the Saints organization and 36th as a professional photographer, having originally joined the club in 1997 at director of photography. A New Orleans native who is a graduate of Rummel High School and Tulane University, Hebert began his work for the Saints after working as a sports photographer for clients such as the NFL, Sports Illustrated, ESPN, Nike, Reebok, Mercedes-Benz, BMW, General Motors, Porsche, Oakley, Harley Davidson, the NCAA, NASCAR, NBC, CBS, PGA and the NBA. Recognized as one of the top commercial photographers in the country, Hebert's images have been used worldwide to promote products from books, calendars, posters, to cards, sunglasses, beverages and clothing. In 2010, through the Saints, a book was published called "World Champs", providing fans a behind the scenes perspective with his photography of the team's Super Bowl XLIV Championship run. He also is the vice president for the Saints Hall of Fame.

Events surrounding the induction of Moore and Thomas and the recognition of Hebert will take place on the weekend running from Sept. 14-16 in conjunction with the home game against the Cleveland Browns. For more information about the Saints Hall of Fame, visit Additional information about the Hall of Fame weekend will be announced in the coming months.


1988—Archie Manning and Danny Abramowicz
1989—Tommy Myers and Tom Dempsey
1990—Billy Kilmer
1991—Tony Galbreath and Derland Moore
1992—George Rogers, Jake Kupp and John Hill
1993—Joe Federspiel
1994—Henry Childs and Jim Finks
1995—Doug Atkins and Bob Pollard
1996—Dave Whitsell and Dave Waymer
1997—Stan Brock and Rickey Jackson
1998—Dalton Hilliard and Sam Mills
1999—Bobby Hebert and Eric Martin
2000—Pat Swilling and Vaughan Johnson
2001—Jim Wilks and Hoby Brenner
2002—Jim Mora and Frank Warren
2003—Jim Dombrowski and Wayne Martin
2004—Rueben Mayes and Steve Sidwell
**2005—No induction due to Hurricane Katrina
2006—Joel Hilgenberg
2007—Joe Johnson
2008—William Roaf
2009—Morten Andersen
2010—Joe Horn
2011—Sammy Knight
2012—Tom Benson and Deuce McAllister
2013—La'Roi Glover
2014—Aaron Brooks and John Carney
2015—Tyrone Hughes and Michael Lewis
2016—Will Smith
2017—Jonathan Vilma and Carl Nicks


1989—Al Hirt
1990—Joe Gemelli (award later named for him)
1991—Dave Dixon
1992—Charlie Kertz
1993—Wayne Mack
1994—Erby Aucoin
1995—Aaron Broussard
1996—Marie Knutson
1997—Angela Hill
1998—Joe Impastato
1999—Frank Wilson
2000—Bob Remy
2001—Peter "Champ" Clark
2002—Dean Kleinschmidt
2003—Jim Fast
2004—Bob Roesler
2005—NO INDUCTEES due to Hurricane Katrina
2006—Buddy Diliberto
2007—New Orleans Saints Fans (Marcy Beter)
2008—Barra Birrcher
2009—Jerry Romig
2010—Dan Simmons and Glennon "Silky" Powell
2011—Bruce Miller
2012—Jim Henderson
2013—Pete Finney
2014—Al Nastasi and Tony Piazza
2015—Doug Thornton
2016—Hokie Gajan
2017—Jay Romig

Related Content