Skip to main content
New Orleans Saints

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Presented by

Destrehan's Robicheaux Named Saints HS Coach of the Year


The New Orleans Saints have named Destrehan Head Coach Stephen Robicheaux Saints NFL High School Coach of the Year for the 2008 season. The Wildcats won their second consecutive Class 5-A State Championship by defeating West Monroe in the championship game in December.

Robicheaux was presented the award last week at Impastato's Restaurant where Saints Head Coach Sean Payton was the guest of honor and WWL Sportscaster Jim Henderson served as emcee. Payton reminisced about his relationship with his high school coach and talked about the role he played in developing the career of the Saints' third-year had man.

"These award-winning coaches play such a big role in developing and molding young men, and it always reminds me of my high school coach. I don't think I would be in the position I am today if it weren't for him," said Payton.

Robicheaux was given the award for not only his team's accomplishments, but also his contributions off the field in the community. He is a huge proponent of dedication in the classroom, while at the same time preaching character and work ethic to his players.

Each high school coach who won the Coach of the Week Award during the 2008 season was also present, and was recognized for his accomplishments. These coaches include Ken Sears of St. Paul's, Craig Lingle of Bonnabel, Marcus Scott of West Jefferson, Lou Valdin of Hahnville, Joseph Harris of Pearl River, Willie Brooks of Helen Cox, Dennis Lorio of Thibodaux, Gary Hill of Terrebonne, Byron Addison of Clark and Jay Pittman of Brother Martin.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content