Skip to main content

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Touchdown Club of New Orleans to honor former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue, Saints punter Thomas Morstead

The club will be presenting their Board of Directors Award to Morstead

Paul Tagliabue, former NFL commissioner, along with former Louisiana State University Assistant Coach Pete Jenkins, former Prep Coach Don Wattigny and Doug Mouton, WWL-TV Sports Director, will be honored for their contributions to football by The Touchdown Club of New Orleans. This year the club will be presenting their Board of Directors Award to Thomas Morstead, punter of the New Orleans Saints.The banquet will be held on March 9, 2019 at The Windsor Court Hotel, 300 Gravier Street in New Orleans.

Mike Detillier, Sports / Football Analyst, will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

Tickets are available by calling The Touchdown Club at (504) 242-4545, by e-mail at or by visiting our website,, and clicking the link on our home page.

The Club will present Paul Tagliabue with the 30th annual Pete Rozelle Award, given each year to the person who has made outstanding contributions to professional football and the National Football League. Tagliabue was the commissioner of the NFL from 1989 to 2006. Tagliabue was selected by the owners to succeed Pete Rozelle as commissioner.

The Collegiate Award Recipient is Coach Pete Jenkins. Jenkins is a former Defensive Line Coach who has coached at LSU and many other colleges. He has been coaching since 1964 and has coached in 15 bowl games.

The Prep Award goes to Coach Don Wattigny who spent 12 seasons as Head Coach of Karr High School. Wattingny compiled a record of 104-38, including a state championship in 1993.

The Roesler Media Award will be presented to Doug Mouton, WWL-TV Sports Director. Doug has been in sports journalism for 31 years.

This year the Club will present their Board of Directors Award to Thomas Morstead. Morstead, a punter who was drafted by the New Orleans Saints in 2009, was a member of the Saints 2010 Super Bowl Championship and a pro bowl selection in 2012. In 2014, Morstead and his wife Lauren started the What You Give Will Grow Foundation as a way to help the New Orleans and Gulf South communities.

The Touchdown Club was founded in 1967 initially to promote the best interests of the New Orleans Saints. The Club has grown to promote the American game of football in New Orleans and throughout Louisiana and the Gulf South. Its members are among the most avid Saints supporters and fans of football at all levels.


Pete Rozelle Award Recipients

2018 Archie Manning, Former New Orleans Saints Quarterback

2017 Bobby Beathard, General Manager, NFL League

2016 Joe Browne, Senior Advisor to NFL Commissioner

2015 Terry Bradshaw, Former Pittsburgh Steelers Quarterback and FOX NFL Analyst

2014 Joel Bussert, Sr. V.P. Player Personnel and Football Operations, NFL

2013 Bill Polian, Former Vice-Chairman, Indianapolis Colts and ESPN NFL Analyst

2012 Carl Peterson, Former President, GM, and CEO, Kansas City Chiefs

2011 Ron Wolf, Former General Manager, Green Bay Packers

2010 Pat Summerall, Former New York Giants Placekicker, CBS and Fox Sportscaster

2009 Ernie Accorsi, Former Sr. V.P. and General Manager, New York Giants

2008 Jim Steeg, Exec.V.P. & COO, San Diego Chargers

2007 Tom Benson, Owner, New Orleans Saints

2005 Jerry Markbreit, NFL Referee

2004 Dick Vermeil, Head Coach, Kansas City Chiefs

2003 Steve Sabol, President, NFL Films

2002 Vince Lombardi, Former Coach, Green Bay Packers

2001 Bill Walsh, Former Coach, San Francisco 49er's

2000 Don Weiss, Former Executive Director of the NFL

1999 Ralph Wilson, President, Buffalo Bills

1998 Tex Schramm, Former General Manager, Dallas Cowboys

1997 Marv Levy, Former Coach, Buffalo Bills

1996 Don Shula, Former Coach, Miami Dolphins

1995 Tom Landry, Former Coach, Dallas Cowboys

1994 Lamar Hunt, Owner, Kansas City Chiefs

1993 Jim Finks, General Manager, New Orleans Saints

1992 Art Modell, Owner, Baltimore Ravens

1991 Wellington Mara, President, New York Giants

1990 Dan Rooney, President, Pittsburgh Steelers

1989 Pete Rozelle, the former NFL Commissioner

College Award Recipients

2018 Burton Burns, Associate Head Coach & Running Back Coach, University of Alabama

2017 Tommy Bowden, Former College Head Coach

2016 Lee Corso, ESPN Game Day Analyst, Former College Head Coach

2015 Mark Hudspeth, Head Coach, Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin Cajuns

2014 Frank Beamer, Head Coach, Virginia Tech Hokies

2013 Brian Kelly, Head Coach, Notre Dame Fighting Irish

2012 Les Miles, Head Coach LSU Tigers

2011 Urban Meyer, Former Head Coach, Florida Gators

2010 Phillip Fulmer, Former Head Coach, Tennessee Volunteers

2009 Gene Stallings, Former Head Coach, Alabama Crimson Tide

2008 Vince Dooley, Former Head Coach & A.D., Georgia Bulldogs

2007 Bobby Bowden, Head Coach, Florida State Seminoles

2005 Tommy Tuberville, Head Coach, Auburn Tigers

2004 Nick Saban, Head Coach, LSU Tigers

Prep Award Recipients

2018 Otis Washington, Former Head Coach St. Augustine High School

2017 Hank Tierney, Head Coach, Ponchatoula Green Wave

2016 Bill Stubbs, Head Coach, Riverside Academy Rebels

2015 Tim Detillier, Head Coach, Lutcher Bulldogs

2014 Lou Valdin, Former Head Coach, Hahnville Tigers

2013 Barry Wilson, Head Coach, Holy Cross Fighting Tigers

2012 Mickey Roussel, Head Coach, Riverside Academy Rebels

2011 Eddie N. Flint, Defensive Coach, McDonogh #35 Roneagles

2010 Jay Roth, Head Coach, Rummel Raiders

2009 Bob Becnel, Head Coach, Belle Chasse Cardinals

2008 Laury DuPont, Head Coach, West St. John Rams

2007 Wayne Reese, Sr., Head Coach, McDonogh #35 Roneagles

2005 Tony Reginelli, Former Head Coach, Newman Greenies

2004 J.T. Curtis, Head Coach, Curtis Patriots

Bob Roesler Media Award Recipients

2018 Bill Bumgarner, Former Sports Writer, States-Item, The Times-Picayune and

2017 Larry Holder, Saints Columnist, /The Times-Picayune

2016 Juan Kincaid, Sports Director, Fox 8

2015 John DeShazier, and Pelicans' Color Analyst

2014 Mike Triplett, Saints Sports Writer ESPN News (

2013 Ken Trahan, President/GM, New

2012 Ron Brocato, Sports Editor, Clarion-Herald

2011 Jeff Duncan, Sports Columnist, The Times-Picayune

2010 Brian Allee-Walsh, Sports Columnist,

2009 Ed Daniels, Sports Director, ABC 26

2008 Jim Henderson, Sports Director, WWL-TV

2007 Peter Finney, Sports Columnist, The Times-Picayune

2005 Buddy Diliberto, Sportscaster

2004 Bob Roesler, Former Executive Sports Editor, The Times-Picayune

Note: No awards were presented in 2006 in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina