Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Payton to Serve on the NFL Coaches' Subcommittee

Group makes recommendations to Competition Committee.

Head Coach Sean Payton will continue his role on the NFL Coaches' Subcommittee, which makes recommendations to the Competition Committee. The group consists of current and former NFL head coaches.

Atlanta Falcons President Rich McKay has been named the chairman of the NFL Competition Committee.

McKay, a member of the committee since 1994, has served as co-chair since 1998, including since 2001 with former Tennessee Titans head coach Jeff Fisher.

Though no longer a member of the committee, Fisher will continue to serve in a non-voting, advisory role during the current offseason.

The committee, which studies all aspects of the game and recommends rules and policy changes to NFL clubs, consists of the following members:

Rich McKay    Atlanta Falcons    Chairman
Stephen Jones Dallas Cowboys    
Marvin Lewis Cincinnati Bengals    
John Mara New York Giants    
Ozzie Newsome Baltimore Ravens    
Bill Polian Indianapolis Colts    
Rick Smith Houston Texans

The Coaches' Subcommittee, which makes recommendations to the Competition Committee, consists of the following current and former NFL head coaches:

John Madden    Chairman
John Harbaugh Baltimore Ravens
Mike Holmgren Cleveland Browns
Sean Payton    New Orleans Saints
Andy Reid Philadelphia Eagles
Steve Spagnuolo St. Louis Rams
Mike Tomlin Pittsburgh Steelers
Norv Turner San Diego Chargers
Ken Whisenhunt Arizona Cardinals

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content