Skip to main content
New Orleans Saints

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Touchdown Club of New Orleans 2009 Honorees Announced


Ernie Accorsi, former General Manager of the New York Giants, along with former Head Coach of the Alabama Crimson Tide Gene Stallings, Head Coach and Athletic Director Bob Becnel of the Belle Chasse Cardinals, and ABC 26 Sports Director Ed Daniels, will be honored for their contributions to football by The Touchdown Club of New Orleans at a banquet on March 21 at The Windsor Court Hotel, 300 Gravier Street in New Orleans.

Tickets are available by calling The Touchdown Club at (504) 242-4545. WWL Sports Talk Radio host Bobby Hebert, former Saints quarterback, will serve as master of ceremonies.

The Club will present Accorsi with the 20th annual Pete Rozelle Award, given each year to the person who has made outstanding contributions to professional football and the National Football League. Accorsi has been associated with the NFL for 36 years, including 13 with the Giants where he acquired many of the players of the Super Bowl XVII Champions, two years with the Baltimore Colts, and eight years with the Cleveland Browns. Today, he serves as Co-Chair of the league's General Manager's Advisory Committee.

Collegiate Award recipient Stallings served as Head Coach of Texas A&M and the University of Alabama. He served in the NFL as an Assistant Coach with the Cowboys for 14 years and as Head Coach of the Cardinals for four years. His 1992 Crimson Tide team won the SEC and the national championship. His seven year record at Alabama was 62-25 with a 5-1 bowl record.

Bob Becnel will be honored for his achievements in prep football over 27 years. His Cardinals captured the State Championship in 2008 and were State Finalists in 2001. Additionally, the Cardinals have posted a 153-92 record under his tutelage.

Daniels will receive the Roesler Media Award for his 31 years of excellence in media coverage of football at all levels. The award is presented in honor of former *Times-Picayune *Executive Sports Editor Bob Roesler. As a veteran sportscaster in New Orleans, Daniels created Friday Night Football, the first high school football show in New Orleans.

The Touchdown Club was founded in 1967 initially to promote the best interests of the New Orleans Saints. The Club has grown to promote the American game of football in the New Orleans area. Its members are among the most avid Saints supporters and fans of football at all levels.

Past HonoreesPete Rozelle Award Recipients
2008 Jim Steeg, Exec.V.P. & COO, San Diego Chargers
2007 Tom Benson, owner, New Orleans Saints
2005 Jerry Markbreit, NFL Official
2004 Dick Vermeil, Head Coach, Kansas City Chiefs
2003 Steve Sabol, President, NFL Films
2002 Vince Lombardi, former coach, Green Bay Packers
2001 Bill Walsh, former coach, San Francisco 49ers
2000 Don Weiss, former executive director of the NFL
1999 Ralph Wilson, president, Buffalo Bills
1998 Tex Schramm, former general manager, Dallas Cowboys
1997 Marv Levy, former coach, Buffalo Bills
1996 Don Shula, former coach, Miami Dolphins
1995 Tom Landry, former coach, Dallas Cowboys
1994 Lamar Hunt, owner, Kansas City Chiefs
1993 Jim Finks, former general manager, New Orleans Saints
1992 Art Modell, owner, Baltimore Ravens
1991 Wellington Mara, president, New York Giants
1990 Dan Rooney, President, Pittsburgh Steelers
1989 Pete Rozelle, former NFL Commissioner

College Award Recipients2008 Vince Dooley, former Head Coach & AD, Georgia Bulldogs
2007 Bobby Bowden, Head Coach, Florida State Seminoles
2005 Tommy Tuberville, Head Coach, Auburn Tigers
2004 Nick Saban, Head Coach, LSU Tigers

Prep Award Recipients2008 Laury DuPont, Head Coach, West St. John Rams
2007 Wayne Reese, Head Coach, McDonogh #35 Roneagles
2005 Tony Reginelli, former Head Coach, Newman Greenies
2004 J.T. Curtis, Head Coach, Curtis Patriots

Bob Roesler Media Award Recipients2008 Jim Henderson, Sports Director, WWL-TV
2007 Peter Finney, Sports Columnist, The Times-Picayune
2005 Buddy Diliberto, Sportscaster
2004 Bob Roesler, former Executive Sports Editor, The Times-Picayune

Note: No awards were presented in 2006 in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.