Skip to main content

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Delvin Breaux named Saints winner of Ed Block Courage Award

Breaux's teammates voted for him to receive the award

Photos of Delvin Breaux from the 2015 Season. Photos by Michael C. Hebert (New Orleans Saints photos)

In a vote by his teammates, New Orleans Saints CB Delvin Breaux has been named the Saints' 2015 Ed Block Courage Award winner, which is given annually to a player from each National Football League team who has persevered through adversity.

Breaux's teammates voted him as the club's winner based on his work ethic and perseverance in successfully rehabilitating from a major neck injury suffered as a senior at McDonogh 35 High School in 2006. The New Orleans native broke three vertebrae in his neck during a high school game. After being unable to receive medical clearance during his time at LSU, Breaux played semi-pro football in the Gridiron Developmental Football League before moving on to the Arena Football League and Canadian Football League.

Breaux, in his first season with the team after coming to New Orleans in the offseason from the CFL, has started all 11 games for the Saints and has posted 35 tackles (28 solo), an interception, a fumble recovery and a team-leading 17 passes defensed.

"Given that I've been a member of this team for less than a year, I'm honored to have been selected for this award," said Breaux. "While it's a recognition of hard work and perseverance on my part, I would also like to thank my teammates and the entire Saints organization. The fact that my teammates voted for me to receive this honor in addition to their support and acceptance over the past year makes this even more significant. I'm also very appreciative of the Saints for providing me with the opportunity last January to play in the National Football League finally and for even better for my hometown team, which has made this journey even more satisfying."
Each year the Ed Block Courage Awards honor those players who overcome adversity on the field, possess strong character and a will to endure life's trials, and who continuously strive for excellence on and off the field. The award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. All 32 of this year's Ed Block Courage Award recipients – one from each team – will be honored at a banquet next spring in Baltimore. Proceeds from the event benefit abused children of the Courage House National Support Network.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content