Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

New Orleans Saints trim roster to 53-player limit

10-man practice squad roster will be announced later

Faces of the 2014 New Orleans Saints roster as of Saturday, August 30, 2014.

The New Orleans Saints made 22 roster moves Saturday to reach the NFL-mandated active roster limit of 53, Executive Vice President/General Manager Mickey Loomis announced.

The club has waived C Matt Armstrong, CB Derrius Brooks, WR Brandon Coleman, ILB Todd Davis, K Derek Dimke, CB Terrence Frederick, WR Charles Hawkins, TE Nic Jacobs, G Marcel Jones, WR Seantavious Jones, T Tavon Rooks, RB Derrick Strozier, NT Lawrence Virgil, CB Trevin Wade, S Pierre Warren, T/G Jason Weaver. They have terminated the contracts of CB Champ Bailey, OLB Keyunta Dawson, K Shayne Graham, FB Greg Jones, WR Robert Meachem and T Thomas Welch.

Beginning Sunday, the Saints and all 32 NFL teams may establish a practice squad of up to 10 players. The Saints will open the regular season Sunday, Sept. 7 when they play the Atlanta Falcons at the Georgia Dome at noon.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content