Skip to main content
New Orleans Saints

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Loomis part of winning team in Saints Hall of Fame Celebrity Golf Classic

The tournament was held at Chateau Golf and Country Club in Kenner

Photos from the Saints Hall of Fame Golf Tournament at Chateau Country Club on May 16, 2016. Photos by Alex Restrepo (New Orleans Saints Photos)

Enjoying a respite from the everyday grind of running the New Orleans Saints organization while overseeing the New Orleans Pelicans, New Orleans Saints Executive Vice President and General Manager Mickey Loomis found the course at Chateau Golf and Country Club in Kenner to his liking.

The group of Loomis, Scott Korndorffer, Desi Vega, Rick Hart and Robbie Hazard posted the low gross score in the 25th annual WGNO Saints Hall of Fame Celebrity Golf Classic Monday.

The team of Chris Newman, Latner McDonald, Brent Wilson, Blair Michel and Aderious Simmons claimed first place on the net side of the competition.

The team anchored by Saints punter Thomas Morstead and former Saints cornerback Tyrone Legette took second on the net side. The team included Bob McMyne, Daniel Peronich, Billy Deville and Bobby Leonard.

Current Saints linebacker Michael Mauti anchored the third place net squad, which included George Messina, Andrew Messina, Darin Yuratich and Trey Babin.

Mauti won the longest drive competition at the 18th hole. Former New Orleans Saints guard Emanuel Zanders won the closest to the hole contest on No. 11 with a drive that landed two feet, two inches from the hole while Jason Bruno won the closest to the hole competition on the seventh hole on a tee shot that landed six feet, seven inches from the cup.

The event included a host of current New Orleans Saints, including head coach Sean Payton, along with Mauti, Morstead, Austin Johnson, Delvin Breaux, Tony Carter, Coby Fleener, Kai Forbath, Josh Hill, Michael Hoomanawanui, Mark Ingram, Craig Robertson, Zach Strief, Nathan Stupar and Max Unger.

Among New Orleans Saints alumni participating were Chuck Commiskey, Tyrone Lefette, Michael Lewis, Fred McAfee, Deuce McAllister, Mel Mitchell and Emanuel Zanders.

All proceeds benefit the non-profit Saints Hall of Fame Museum, currently under renovation for the 50-year anniversary at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The museum is scheduled to re-open in late July.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content