Skip to main content
New Orleans Saints

Saints News | New Orleans Saints |

Brees Named AP Offensive Player of the Year


Saints quarterback Drew Brees was named the NFL's Offensive Player of the Year this morning by the Associated Press. Brees continued to re-write the team's record books in 2008, becoming just the second player in league history to throw for 5,000 yards in a single season, passing for 5,069 yards with a team-record and league-leading 34 touchdowns.

Brees, who earned his second Pro Bowl selection in three seasons with the Saints, is the first player in franchise history to receive this award. The eight-year veteran compiled 10 300-yard passing games this season and made a strong push for Dan Marino's 24-year-old NFL-passing record, ending up just 15 yards behind the all-time mark of 5,084. Brees beat out Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning and Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson in the voting, which was done by 50 sportswriters and broadcasters from across the nation. The Saints' signal-caller earned 22 of the 50 votes, while Manning and Peterson tied for second place with nine apiece.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.