On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.

News and Events


Payton Nominated for Inaugural Don Shula NFL Coach of the Year Award

Posted Jan 18, 2011

Winner to be announced during Super Bowl week.

Saints Head Coach Sean Payton was one of twenty eight football coaches from across the country nominated for the inaugural Don Shula NFL Coach of the Year Award, the NFL announced Tuesday.

This new award was created to honor exemplary football coaches at all levels of the sport that display the integrity, achievement, and leadership demonstrated by the winningest coach in NFL history, Don Shula.

The coaches were nominated by NFL teams and by USA Football, the sport’s national governing body on youth and amateur levels. Nominees are active football coaches at NFL, college, high school and youth levels. They were chosen for their character and integrity, inspirational leadership, commitment to the community, and on-field success.

The Don Shula NFL Coach of the Year Award selection panel is comprised of Coach Shula; NFL Commissioner ROGER GOODELL; former Indianapolis Colts Coach and current NBC analyst TONY DUNGY; Former Raiders Coach and member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame JOHN MADDEN; General RAYMOND ODIERNO, Commander, United States Joint Forces Command; SAM PALMISANO, Chairman, CEO and President of IBM; Former Secretary of State, Senior Fellow on Public Policy at the Hoover Institution and faculty member at the Stanford Graduate School of Business CONDOLEEZA RICE; and AARON THOMAS, Athletic Director at Aplington-Parkersburg High School and son of the school’s late football coach Ed Thomas.

"I am honored that the NFL has put this award in my name. I think it is great that we are recognizing coaches from all levels—high school, collegiate and professional,” said Shula. “Congratulations to all of the nominees, and I look forward to presenting the first annual award at this year's Super Bowl in North Texas."

The national Shula Award winner will receive $25,000 and be invited to the Super Bowl, where he will be recognized at a press conference.


NOMINATED BY                       NOMINEE                        LEVEL              TEAM

Atlanta Falcons

Ron Gartell

High School

Stephenson High School

Stone Mountain, GA

Baltimore Ravens

John Harbaugh


Baltimore Ravens

Buffalo Bills

Tom Goddard

High School

Clarence High School

Clarence, NY 

Carolina Panthers

Mike Ayers


Wofford College

Spartanburg, SC

Chicago Bears

Scott "Reggie" Medinger


Cary Junior Trojans

McHenry, IL

Cincinnati Bengals

Dale Mueller

High School

Highlands High School

Fort Thomas, KY

Cleveland Browns

Todd Filtz

High School

Maple Heights High School

Cleveland, OH

Denver Broncos

Dave Logan

High School

J.K. Mullen High School

Denver, CO

Detroit Lions

John Herrington

High School

Farmington Hills Harrison High School

Farmington, MI

Green Bay Packers

Gerald Sinz

High School

Edgar High School

Edgar, WI

Houston Texans

Ray Seals

High School

Madison High School

Houston, TX

Indianapolis Colts

Rick Wimmer

High School

Fishers High School

Fishers, IN

Jacksonville Jaguars

Kevin Sullivan

High School

Atlantic Coast High School

Jacksonville, FL

Kansas City Chiefs

Mel Tjeerdsma


Northwest Missouri State University

Martville, MO

Miami Dolphins

George Smith

High School

St. Thomas Aquinas High School

Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Minnesota Vikings

Ron Stolski

High School

Brainerd High School

Brainerd, MN

New England Patriots

Ian Cotterell


Brookline-Jamaica Plain Patriots

Boston, MA

New Orleans Saints

Sean Payton


New Orleans Saints

New York Giants

Tom Coughlin


New York Giants

New York Jets

Clayton Kendrick-Holmes


SUNY Maritime Privateers

Bronx, NY

Pittsburgh Steelers

Bob Jacoby

High School

Bishop Canevin High School

Pittsburgh, PA

St. Louis Rams

Cliff Ice

High School

Webster Groves High School

St. Louis, MO

San Francisco 49ers

Ken Perelta

High School

Marin Catholic High School

Kentfield, CA

Seattle Seahawks

Pete Carroll


Seattle Seahawks

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Raheem Morris


Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Tennessee Titans

Mike Heimerdinger


Tennessee Titans

Washington Redskins

Mark Burke

High School

Model Secondary School for the Deaf

Washington, DC

USA Football

Tom Sappington

Middle School

Hastings Middle School

Columbus, OH